Staff Council Welcomes 8 New Members for 2020

As its fifth year winds down, the Georgia Tech Staff Council is looking forward to eight new faces.

October’s elections brought these Tech employees onto the Council to serve three-year terms beginning January 2020:

Administrative and Professional

  • David Bamburowski, director of academic and research faculty affairs, Faculty Affairs
  • Alex Gutierrez, marketing specialist, Parking and Transportation Services

Skilled Trades

  • Juan Archila, director of facilities and capital planning, College of Sciences
  • Jonathan Etress, senior facilities manager, H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Michael Williams, roofer, Facilities


  • Lizzie Millman, development associate, Office of Development

Science & Research

  • Rusty Taylor, research technician, College of Design

Information Technology

  • Mir Mohammad, IT support professional, Georgia Tech Manufacturing Institute

Byron Fitch from Strategic Consulting will serve as Council chair, succeeding David Brown. Quinae Ford, administrative manager in Facilities Management, will succeed Ryan Lisk as vice chair, and Alex Gutierrez will be the new Council secretary, succeeding Tonia Valeck. The rest of the 2020 Staff Council leadership team includes:

  • Chris Walker, assistant director of marketing, Georgia Tech Professional Education – chair, Communications Committee
  • Will Jimerson, director of human resources, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts – chair, Compensation and Benefits Committee
  • Juan Archila, director of facilities and capital planning, College of Sciences – chair, Campus Physical Environment Committee
  • Candice Bovian, benefits specialist, Office of Human Resources – chair, Employee Engagement Committee (Bovian also serves as secretary for the USG Staff Council)
  • Jon Hart, assistant director of campus recreation, Facilities and Operations, Campus Recreation – chair, Employee Health and Well-Being

“As we embark on our sixth year as a Staff Council, it is my honor to welcome our newly elected members,” said Brown, electrician II, Facilities Management. “We have reached several milestones in our previous years and look forward to a year of high energy in successful ventures. It is also an honor to continue working with our returning members as together; each of us contributes to accomplishing new goals as others make it through the system. I appreciate everyone’s willingness to make this institution the great place we know it is.”

In accordance with the Council’s bylaws, members are permitted to serve up to two consecutive terms. The following members have completed their elected service as of this month:

Administrative and Professional

  • Tonia Valeck
  • Wansley Denis
  • Rudy Paratchek

Research and Science

  • Ryan Lisk

Skilled Trades

  • Johnny Stewart
  • Kyle Richardson

Information Technology

  • Karla Gibson


  • Virginia Sheppard

To learn more about the Staff Council and ways to get involved, visit

Related Links

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • New Staff Council Members for 2020

    New Staff Council Members for 2020

For More Information Contact

Virginia Sheppard

Staff Council

Financials Transformation

Legacy Grants Management

Legacy Management Reports